Wintery Knight

…integrating Christian faith and knowledge in the public square

ESPN newscaster punished for not affirming the goodness of homosexuality

Here’s a popular post at the American Spectator.

Excerpt:

As homosexuals come out of the closet, Christians go into it. “Authenticity” is highly prized in society today, provided that what one feels falls safely within the dictates of political correctness. Sports analyst Chris Broussard stepped briefly outside of the Christian closet on Monday and paid the price for it.

“Personally I don’t believe that you can live an openly homosexual lifestyle or an openly premarital sex [lifestyle] between heterosexuals. If you’re openly living that type of lifestyle, the Bible says you know them by their fruits, it says that’s a sin,” Broussard said on ESPN. “If you’re openly living in unrepentant sin, whatever it may be, not just homosexuality, adultery, fornication, premarital sex between heterosexuals, whatever it may be. I think that’s walking in open rebellion to God and to Jesus Christ.”

ESPN, not long thereafter, apologized for permitting these remarks to disrupt Monday’s canonization: “We regret that a respectful discussion of personal viewpoints became a distraction from today’s news. ESPN is fully committed to diversity and welcomes Jason Collins’ announcement.”

Naturally, a Soviet-style clarification was in order from the guilty party, and Broussard supplied it via Twitter by Monday night: “Today on [ESPN], as part of a larger, wide-ranging discussion on today’s news, I offered my personal opinion as it relates to Christianity, a point of view that I have expressed publicly before. I realize that some people disagree with my opinion and I accept and respect that. As has been the case in the past, my beliefs have not and will not impact my ability to report on the NBA. I believe Jason Collins displayed bravery with his announcement today and I have no objection to him or anyone else playing in the NBA.”

Broussard did a good job of expressing his opposition to marriage, but any kind of restrictions on sex are no longer welcome in a society that thinks that there are no moral rules when it comes to sex. Obviously, he could have  a better job of expressing his opposition with some evidence, but I don’t see why he should be censored and forced to apologize.

One other funny thing about the gay NBA player story. He had a girlfriend for 8 years and was going to marry her in 2009. He called it off. She found out that he was gay just a few days before the big announcement was made to the public. I wonder how this sort of thing squares with the popular myth that gay people are born gay?

Filed under: News, , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. rangerrebew says:

    First of all, I’d like to apologize for not being gay, not being transgender, not being a person of color, for being educated, for believing in God, for believing in the Constitution, believing in moral values, for being a Viet Nam Vet, for being a citizen of the United States.. Those are the ones I’m sorry for off the top of my head. Why must America fail? Free speech is gone and without it, a Republic cannot survive.

  2. I do see your point, but I see the counterpoint here as well. I believe this is a fight that needs to be fought, but since I see both perspectives, it’s difficult for me to take a firm side. This country lives within a lot of grey area on matters such as this, and both sides are struggling to make it more black and white. Christians often find themselves in an ackward position. It’s not that they are wrong, but that they have just as valid of an opinion as the overwhelming forces of social equality. Historically, you would have found me on the opposing side of the Christian view. If its any consolation, I find myself on the fence far more often these days. Unfortunately, there are too many out there stuck on a very closed minded perspective. I hope to continue to see Christians fighting back for their right of opinion. I know this seems like an uphill struggle, but the movement is slowly gaining ground. The next decade will be full of a lot of this sort of thing. The challenge lies in bridging that gap of misunderstanding. Christians aren’t taking away from the freedoms of homosexuals to express themselves. Now that the LGBTQ community has a voice (which in their defense they didn’t for a very long time), they need to learn to respect the Christian voice as well. There are people on both sides of this debate that continue to do things that only slow progress. The good news: progress is inevitable. I trust the people of America and the world will continue moving forward. Only through challenging times such as these, is that progress made.

Leave a Reply

Click to see recent visitors

  Visitors Online Now

Page views since 1/30/09

  • 4,227,036 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,969 other followers

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,969 other followers

