Wintery Knight

…integrating Christian faith and knowledge in the public square

J. Warner Wallace: who is responsible for explaining Christianity to your child?

Here is a must-read post from J. Warner Wallace, author of “Cold Case Christianity“.

Excerpt:

It’s tempting to assign our responsibility as parents to others, especially when it comes to issues that require some expertise we don’t already possess. When my daughter was struggling with geometry, my first inclination was to hire a tutor, even though my architecture degree forced me through several layers of calculus and I was proficient at geometry at one time myself. Instead of hiring someone, my son and I worked through each question with my daughter. I took the time to relearn the material so I could teach it to her. It was a pain, but it was worth it. I love my daughter and I know my daughter’s learning style, her concerns and her personality. I can tell when she’s “getting it” and when she’s just pretending to get it. For this reason, I knew I was the best person to help her, and although it required some work on my part, it was the right decision.

Spiritual instruction is really no different. It’s tempting to assign this form of instruction to a youth pastor or ministry. Spiritual questions are often difficult to answer and questions related to secular philosophy, historical veracity and arguments for the existence of God can seem insurmountable. When the challenges arise, it’s easy to look to someone else for an answer. At times like these, most of us find ourselves saying, “Let me get you a book,” or “I’ll try to find someone you can talk to.” But, that’s not what our kids need from us when they first begin questioning. They came to us with their questions and they need us to provide them with the answers. We’re the ones who love our kids enough to understand their shape and the nature of their personalities. We ought to know how best to respond to their questions as well. When your son or daughter begins questioning his or her faith, you’re the person who needs to become the best Christian Case Maker they know. This is especially true if your kids have questions when they are very young.

I’ve noticed some parents at my church who seem to focus the bulk of their efforts in this life on their own enterprises. They aren’t quite sure what to do with their own children. They don’t know why they had them, except in order to be made happy by them. If they are concerned with religion at all, they depend on other people to teach their children about it. If parents can’t explain things to their children, then children will come to believe that Christianity is something that people affirm without reasons and evidence. In addition, parents who know why they believe what they believe will find it much easier to live out authentic Christian lives. And that has a huge impact on a child.

UPDATE: I was dressing for work this morning and checking for new podcasts and found that there is a podcast for this blog post. It’s really good, I listened to the whole thing while in the gym, and I highly recommend it, even if you don’t have children yourself.

Filed under: Commentary, , , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. tyalexanderh says:

    Teaching our own children is the right attitude to have. It is the parents’ responsibility to teach of God and His things to their family (Deuteronomy 4:9, Deuteronomy 11:19, Psalm 78:5). The other issue, though, is how do the parents get the correct teachings to pass on. Handing down the wrong teachings is just as harmful as not teaching at all.

    The church still needs to listen to servants and teachers who were anointed by God for the task and given the correct foundations of principles and Truth. It’s every Christian’s responsibility to recognize these people and the guidance they teach because God does not give everything to one person or “church.” We are to live on every Word of God (Deuteronomy 8:3). How can the Church do that when she does not listen to the whole Body of Christ? The hands cut off the foot and still expect to walk as God wishes.

Leave a Reply

Click to see recent visitors

  Visitors Online Now

Page views since 1/30/09

  • 4,513,782 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,157 other followers

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,157 other followers

