Two reasons to avoid premarital sex: trust issues and contact with exes

This is from Family Studies blog.  (H/T Brad Wilcox)

Excerpt:.

My own research with working-class young adults leads me to believe that they have basically made peace with sexual permissiveness—at least outside of marriage—even as they retain some ambivalence about it. They tend to move in quickly with new romantic partners, even as they worry that people rush too quickly into relationships. From survey data, we know that people without a college education have more lifetime sexual partners than those with a college education, and that most of them see no problem with premarital sex.

But there is one problem: easy access to sex with multiple partners can make for complicated relationships. As sexual partners accumulate, so does the potential for distrust. As one man whose ex-girlfriend had cheated on him explained, “It’s gonna take a lot more time for me to ever trust somebody again like that. I let her in quick, and now it’s never gonna happen again.” One divorced man said simply, “Everyone has to watch their ass all the time.” There is the feeling that no one is safe—even in marriage. As another young man claimed, “Nowadays, even though you got a ring on your finger, people tend to look past that.”

So people describe keeping vigilant watch over their partners’ cell phones, policing for messages from exes. They live an all but married lifestyle, yet they say that they are hesitant to make the commitment of marriage. Why? Part of the reason is that they don’t trust their partner, or themselves, to remain in the marriage. In one survey, 42.5 percent of low-income, unmarried respondents cited “worry that the marriage would end in divorce” as a reason they might not be pursuing marriage, and 23.5 percent cited “questions about whether your partner is trustworthy.” As one young man that I interviewed said after learning that his fiancée was cheating on him, “I don’t trust nobody.”

That distrust is at least partly the legacy of the libertarian sexual ethic, which assumes that sexual activity outside of marriage is typically okay so long as people are mutually consenting to the acts. And that distrust is why I have a hard time believing—as Noah Smith does—that sexual permissiveness will somehow evolve into more stable marriages for the working class. (Indeed, having more sexual partners prior to marriage is linked to greater odds of divorce, as Nicholas Wolfinger and W. Bradford Wilcox recently documented.) There is no invisible hand that will transform James and Jessica’s distrust and cynicism, which stems in part from their multiple past sexual relationships, into trust and an enduring marriage. What the working class needs—what we all need—to achieve our shared aspirations for lifelong love and a stable family is social permission to date without immediately having sex.

That’s important because today young people often assume that withholding sex is a sign of distrust. As James said, if you begin a relationship and don’t have sex, “they automatically assume that you’re cheating.”  But sliding into sex often translates into sliding into a relationship—and children—without first building trust and discerning for character and compatibility. And that slide often contributes to the erosion of trust in the opposite sex and in lifelong love. We must confront that reality if we’re serious about empowering working young adults to achieve trusting relationships.

“Withholding sex” makes it sound bad. You don’t have sex or even do sexual things before marriage because you are trying to prove to your partner that you have self-control enough that when you are married, he/she need not be concerned that you are OK with sex outside of a lifelong commitment. You restrain yourself in order to prove to the other person that you have what it takes in order to be trusted, and the other person does the same to you. It’s not that you are trying to reduce the amount of “fun” you are having, it’s that you are auditioning for a role, and this is what the other person needs to see from you during the courtship – chastity. It’s even better if your exes can produce letters of reference. I always produce letters of references from my exes and they tell the woman “you have nothing to worry about, he may push you for many, many things as he leads you, but sex isn’t one of those things”. I am very demanding about women learning and growing – just not demanding about sex. Sex is for marriage.

Usually, when a girl I court has sexual experience, it’s because she had a period when she was not a Christian. This is fine with me (it’s something that requires adjustments and some extra work). You might think because I am so demanding and judgmental, that this is an immediate disqualifier, but it’s not. What I like to do is try to lead the woman to learn apologetics, conservative ideas, how marriage works, etc. Usually what happens is that she compares me to her ex-boyfriends who were not Christians and thinks “wow! those guys had no plan for me beyond making me fulfill their sexual needs”. Which is what you can expect from a non-Christian man – they have no interest in introducing you to the Boss, and telling you what the Boss requires. That’s one of the pluses of being courted by a Christian man – we put the woman’s service to God first. We don’t push her into sex, because we find other ways for her to show that she loves us other than sex. There are a BILLION ways for a woman to show that she loves you and is interested in you without pushing her for anything sexual.

It does have a strong effect on a woman when she sees me putting my needs second, and trying to get her to learn stuff that is helpful to the Boss. I think when a woman experiences that, it’s difficult for them to go back to non-Christian men. At least, that’s my experience. The more you teach a woman about how a marriage actually runs, and what a man actually does in a marriage, the less she tends to like guys who have not prepared for marriage. Well, at least a good woman will connect the dots and adjust what kind of man she is interested in. Men are designed to be protectors, providers and moral/spiritual leaders. Although it’s tempting for a woman to go for men who don’t make demands and don’t make judgments, in the long run, it’s not good for a marriage project. It would be like stepping on a football field and preferring to talk to the guy who doesn’t take winning too seriously. He’s fun to talk to, not very demanding, but it’s not going anywhere. I think women who choose men who don’t lead or judge on purpose may feel more comfortable, but a goal-directed, demanding relationship is actually more stable.

2 thoughts on “Two reasons to avoid premarital sex: trust issues and contact with exes”

  1. May 28, 2015
    Comment on Two Reasons to Avoid Premarital Sex: Trust Issues and Contact with Exs by Wintery Knight

    I find this post very interesting and also the information about dating a Non-Christian or a Christian, who is rebelling against the teachings in the Bible and need to reconnect and recommit themselves to God, as a Christian yourself. I do agree that many men and women, Christian and Non-Christian, do have premarital sex because the self control is difficult to abstain when physically it is gratifying and fun in the short term and in the moment.
    I don’t agree with the idea of a Christian dating a non-Christian or a Christian, who due to whatever crisis of Faith have turned away from God and his plan/teachings for our lives. I do not say this to judge or condemn any relationship like this. I have learned from the perspective of both an active Christian (“active” is what I am calling someone who is currently seeking God’s will and continuing to grow and build their life with God as their foundation) dating a non-Christian and also as a Christian who was in in a crisis of Faith and was angry at God and I made choices to do things I knew was sinful and against God’s plan for my life.
    I am grateful for my friends who convinced me to take a break from dating after I was left by a man that claimed to be a Christian, only he and God know if that is or was true at that time or ever in his life, that we both were actively sinning and engaging in premarital sex. I took that time and with the support of those who care for and love me to repent of my sins, rebuild my relationship with God (which is an ever continuing process). I have also decided to not date casually or in a courtship style with the end goal of potentially marrying if we are right for each other and build our relationship foundation of God until I am completely on the solid ground of a growing and seeking God’s will in my life. I currently have also delayed dating in any way since the loss of my Father in March of 2015 and I want to deal with my grief and emotions before actively seeking a romantic relationship so I do not rebound into a relationship with a person who is not seeking the same things I am in my life.
    I was taught throughout my life that it is not ideal to date/be in a courtship with a non-Christian, no matter how good your intention is to lead them to Christ and a real, solid relationship with God, because you are unevenly “yoked,” as the Bible warns against:
    14 Do not be unequally yoked together with unbelievers. For what fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? And what communion has light with darkness? 15 And what accord has Christ with Belial? Or what part has a believer with an unbeliever? 16 And what agreement has the temple of God with idols? For you are the temple of the living God.” 2 Corinthians 6:14-16a (NKJV)
    I have found through my own experiences it is best to be a friend with a Non-Christian while you are sharing your faith, witnessing to them through your words and actions (in private and in public). If/when they accept the gift of Salvation you can help them with finding a church and Bible study as you help them in their discipleship as they build a foundation in their life on God’s word, and the Holy Spirit that is then in them, during this time your friendship may begin to grow into mutual interest in each other. At this time you may find your friendship growing into a courtship/romantic relationship that has a solid foundation in God and you will both already have a personal foundation in God and his plan for your lives. I believe that if you have been by this person’s side all along you are showing them that compared to past relationships, when sex/personal/immediate gratification was the end goal, you have stood by them through their transition without focusing on your physical/immediate gratification with only their best interest at heart so much so that you even delayed courtship so you could support them during their discipleship. You then will be able to show this person that during your courtship you again are focusing on God’s plan for your life, a Biblical courtship/dating, (if you were meant for each other) engagement and marriage. You will have shown them emotional and spiritual intimacy along the way and then will get to experience the physical and emotional intimacy God intended for us in marriage.
    I am not trying to preach at you, I am only trying to share what I was taught in sermons and in Bible studies. I apologize if I have come across as rude or have in anyway insulted you. I hope that maybe what I have shared is in the playbook for the football analogy to a Godly courtship and marriage.
    I am so sorry for such a long comment and grateful for your taking time to read it and look forward to your response.

    Like

Leave a comment