Is feminism compatible with chivalry?

Here’s an interesting article in the Federalist that makes a point I’ve often made about eradication gender roles. If you get rid of the idea men ought to perform certain roles in society, and then don’t give them any respect for fulfilling those roles, then don’t be surprised when they reject the expectations of society.

Excerpt:

Well, our brave new world of gender equality—in which we scoff at gender differences and men and women are encouraged to act the same—often proves harmful to women and girls. While the modern feminist movement won women tremendous freedoms educationally, professionally, personally, and sexually, it often leaves women feeling anything but empowered.

The reality is these freedoms have too often come at the expense of all values and traditions. We’ve in effect thrown the helpful social mores out with the old-fashioned bathwater. But it’s the modern feminist movement, which ushered away any hint of traditional chivalry and gendered expectations, that’s in part to blame. Certainly few want to return to an age when gender roles were excessively rigid, but feminists have gone to extremes and encouraged a culture that undermines healthy gender relationships. Men who hold doors are now viewed as part of the patriarchal society. And girls are expected to just “be one of the guys.”

But gender roles helped men and women and in times past allowed the sexes to better navigate the sometimes-rough waters of romance, courtship, marriage, and sex. Feminists view the chivalry and social mores of previous generations as anachronistic. But the reality is these traditional customs of giving up a seat for a woman on a train, or accompanying a woman in public, weren’t all rooted in sexism. They were social structures to help make men more respectful of women and to curb this kind of inappropriate behavior.

It might not have been perfect, but it had a purpose. Today’s dismissal of gender differences instead creates confusion, disappointment, and often more opportunity for harassment.

It seems to me that this article explains why men are so disappointing these days with respect to rising up to the roles of protector, provider, moral leader and spiritual leader.

If you tell women that there is nothing that men aspire to that is different than what women aspire to, then they lose the ability to evaluate men as protectors, providers, moral leaders and spiritual leaders. If men have no special roles, then the only way to distinguish a good one from a bad one is by appearance, peer-approval and tingles (feelings). Once men understand that this is how they are being evaluated, that’s where they put their effort.

I can tell you that in my experience, women who are influenced by feminism do not welcome men who focus on and excel at these male responsibilities. My new duties, as I understand them from the culture, are to be fun-loving, thrill-providing, and non-judgmental. No definite moral or spiritual opinions are allowed. That’s the job of the public schools – to teach us right and wrong and our secular religion. And protecting and providing? That’s the job of the police and the army, and the government social programs. Men don’t like it when they don’t have respect for fulfilling roles that are their responsibility. We do better when we are respected for being able to do something that others cannot do, and when we are not micro-managed by others while doing it.

Regarding chivalry, I think it’s only safe to do now with women who explicitly reject feminism. Being chivalrous to a feminist doesn’t earn her respect, so don’t bother.

10 thoughts on “Is feminism compatible with chivalry?”

  1. Your observation is interesting. I’m living in a country where, currently, women are second-class. And I totally get that feminism may, at one time, have been useful to give girls more of a chance at education, for example. But the whole “any difference or special treatment is BAD” is taking it to the extreme. I think the younger generation is starting to realize that. For example, during dating, I totally would have loved to have the social expectations of a man asking me out instead of wondering whether I should ask, who should pay, etc. And on my college campus, boys still opened doors for girls, which I think is an awesome tradition. Duh, of course I can open the door myself. But it’s considerate and just a nice thing. If I’m walking with a boy, there’s no awkward moment of both reaching for the door or anything. I hang back, he opens, and the transition happens smoothly. Social expectations aren’t all bad, as some people think without thinking… hahhaha…. check out my latest blog post, I was thinking about the same sort of thing… just a different aspect :)

    Like

  2. I am a feminist, but I don’t think it’s in the sense you are defining. I believe that men and women should have equal opportunity to excel or fail in whatever they wish, without jeers or judgement from other members of our society. I spent 15 years as a firefighter, something I would never have been able to do pre-feminism (except in the age of bucket brigades when every set of hands was needed).

    I do not, however, nor do most women I know who might consider themselves feminists, think men and women are the same. We are different down to our chromosomes. We often think very differently. I believe you are confusing radical feminism with a general belief that men and women are equal and yet different, something that has come out of the feminist revolution and is one of the few beliefs that was not twisted and perverted to serve political ends.

    I would not want to go back to an age of chivalry because I do not believe men are smarter, stronger, more capable than I am in conducting my life in a productive manner. There are many things my husband does better than me – and many more that my sons do better than me – but they are not better than me. Nor am I better than they are. We have different talents, skills, and specialties. As it should be, since we are individuals.

    My sons were taught to open doors for women, to respect women. Equally, they have seen by example that women should respect men.

    I don’t think our young people are stupid. They understand the concept of basic respect. If they have not been taught to *give* it that is not the fault of feminism. That’s just bad parenting.

    I don’t think there needs to be an ‘either/or’ stance on this issue. It’s not one or the other.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Christianity taught that women were equal to men long before feminism came on the scene. I believe that because that’s what the Bible teaches, not because of feminism.

      Feminism might have started out as a way to gain equal votes and ability to work for women, but it isn’t that now. We have those things now. We’ve had them for many years. But, like the unions, feminism wants to keep going, even though its original purpose is fulfilled. So they have to keep coming up with new goals and new “wrongs” to be upset about to keep people on their bandwagon.

      Modern feminism isn’t about equality. It’s about female superiority, doing away with traditional gender roles, beating down men, and being free from the bonds of female reproductive biology (also known as killing unborn babies so that women don’t have to live with the consequences of promiscuity).

      There are certainly women out there who call themselves feminists who simply believe that women are equally valuable and should be treated as equal human beings. But those people need to realize what feminism has become. They’re aligning themselves with a cause that doesn’t share their values. Like the word “gay,” feminism no longer means what it used to.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think the distinction is first-wave feminism, which I agree with and third-wave feminism, which I disagree with. The former is about equal opportunity and the latter is about destroying the distinctions between the sexes and making women value what men value.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It depends on what sort of equality you’re talking about when you say Christianity promoted it. Certainly we are of equal worth, but we do not play equal roles. In marriage, men have the responsibility of being the leader of the family, including the wife who should submit to his authority, also women should not be in a position to teach men. But all the way back in Genesis we are told that women will want to rule over their husbands.

          As to first wave feminists, even they were disgusting. Making threats, and causing actual violence. They were also just as prone to want to stop men from enjoying themselves as the temperance movement shows us. As the label tells us: it was the first wave of things to come.

          The article too is horribly gynocentric:

          “We’ve in effect thrown the helpful social mores out with the old-fashioned bathwater.”

          Just like any self-proclaimed feminist, she wants to have her cake and eat it too.

          “The conversation about street harassment has revealed once again that feminism has come with a cost, and women are usually the ones who bear the real price.”

          Really? not men who have been taken to the cleaners, not children who grew up with absent fathers and barely-there working single mothers? Not society as a whole for buying into this confusing toxic ideology?

          There are comments that are better than the article itself.

          Like

  3. I love it when my boyfriend opens the door for me and always pays when we go out to eat. it lets me know that he respects and can provide for me. feminists must be really bored people if this is all they can find to complain about

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well they want your boyfriend to pay for their birth control pills and abortions, they just want him to pay for it through taxes. So it’s not that they object to men spending money on them, and dependency on men. It’s that they don’t want to have to deal with the demands of a relationship when they are taking the money. They don’t want flowers, they want birth control pills.

      Like

      1. i think you are right. if women are not supposed to need a man why can’t they buy their own birth control? I’ve managed to buy my own birth control without insurance for some years now–and i would never even think of making anyone else pay for it. Feminist must think women are so weak the cant buy their own birth control. BTW thanks for all your post about men and women and relationships, its really help how i relate to my boy friend.

        Soli Deo Gloria

        Like

  4. I really don’t believe in any privileges or special duties based entirely on ones sex. I hold the door open for people, but not because they are women. I hold the door for them because it is a nice thing to do. I have seen feminists who demand that men practice medieval chivalry towards them, but at the same time, don’t thank them for it, and really don’t want an equal society because they want to keep all the special privileges to women. I think that this kind of feminism is compatible with chivalry but incompatible with equality. If anyone has a counter point, please share it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment