Conservative professor Mike Adams on the decline of Campus Crusade

Famous conservative professor Mike Adams is annoyed with Campus Crusade, let’s see why.

He wrote his first article to complain that campus clubs like Crusade don’t take stands on obvious moral issues like abortion.

He wrote:

Nearly half of the abortions in this country are performed on college-age women. According to Students for Life of America, 70% of all abortion-providing and abortion-referring facilities are located within five miles of a college campus. Given those staggering numbers, it would seem that campus ministries would be positioning themselves to do something about the problem. But most are doing nothing at all. If you don’t believe me, take the time to go to the Campus Crusade website and do a search for the word “abortion.” See what your search reveals.

So why are campus ministries largely silent on such a profound moral issue? Recently, I had a chance to ask a Campus Crusade director that very question. His response was that Campus Crusade is not “a politically-based organization.” That explanation is inadequate. In fact, it is demonstrably false.

Several years ago, a good friend of mine named Dave Sterrett gave a pro-life speech to a Campus Crusade chapter at a state university in North Texas. He was invited to speak by a student. During the middle of his speech, he was arguing that the unborn are fully human and have souls by quoting from the Gospel of Luke. His talk was clearly Biblical and not political in nature.

Nonetheless, when the Campus Crusade director arrived, he rudely shut the speech down.

The Campus Crusade director told Dave to come out in the hall after he shut down his talk. The Crusade leader then began to yell at Dave and told him, “I don’t know what your deal is talking about this issue. Get your books and get out of here.” He went even further calling the headquarters of Crusade, which then demanded an apology from Sterrett.

Shortly after I wrote about the incident, several members of Campus Crusade contacted me – but not to apologize for their mistreatment of Dave. They emailed to admonish me for writing about the incident – even though I did not call out the university or the chapter director by name. The fallout from the incident was revealing. It shows how far some campus ministries will go to avoid controversy – and that they often consider themselves to be above reproach.

The original incident was also revealing. The censored speech was not political so the problem cannot be that Campus Crusade is not a “politically-based” organization. The speech was morally and Biblically based. Does the rejection of the speech mean that Campus Crusade is not a “morally-based” organization? Or does it mean they are not a “Biblically-based” organization?

Of course it doesn’t. The incident merely shows that Campus Crusade has become a “comfort-based” organization. In other words, an over-riding priority is avoiding topics that might make people feel uncomfortable.

Now apparently the Crusade people are annoyed with him, and they are complaining – probably not by saying that they are going to be more bold about pushing for apologetics and Christian worldview, but probably by calling him mean and confrontational and conservative.

Here is the second article. He writes:

Dear Kaitlin:

First of all, I would like to thank you for joining my Facebook fan page and for weighing in on my recent article “The Campus Crusade for Comfort.” It is understandable that you would wish to defend your organization, which I criticized rather bluntly in my article. However, your accusation that my article was “un-Christ-like” and was written in a spirit that undermines “Christian unity” requires a response. Since you chose to proffer your criticism in a public forum, I’ll respond by using my weekly column.

Looks like I was right about how the Crusade leader would respond – like a feelings-based leftist. Adams then talks about how Campus Crusade abstained from praise hymns and prayers at an event in order to get government funding for it, and then writes this, which is even worse:

Subsequently, at the very school where Campus Crusade traded its religious freedom for student government funding, there was a lawsuit over a campus speech code. One of the plaintiffs was a fine Christian woman who fought to overturn a speech code that was being used to suppress conservative speech and which also posed a grave threat to religious organizations.

After she sued, homosexual groups erupted in anger – falsely claiming that she was defending “hate speech” by opposing the speech code. They defamed her, physically threatened her, and verbally abused her –all in the name of tolerance and diversity.

This time, Campus Crusade did not remain neutral. They weighed in. But, unbelievably, they weighed in against the Christian woman and in favor of those defending the speech codes. Later, Campus Crusade changed its name to appear more tolerant and less “offensive.” Clearly, they had placed “inoffensiveness” above religious freedom on their list of priorities.

Right after these unfortunate events unfolded I became embroiled in my own First Amendment lawsuit. In part, because I stood in unity with Christians and defended them against illegal policies, I was denied a promotion at my school.

With the support of numerous Christian organizations, I eventually won the seven-year legal battle. Two Christian legal firms paid my legal bills and countless other Christian ministry and policy groups publicly backed me. But one Christian organization remained conspicuously silent. Of course, I am speaking of your organization, the Crusade formerly named after Christ.

For seven long years I heard not a single word of public support from a single member of Campus Crusade. When I won the case, I was deluged with calls and emails and handwritten letters from Christian leaders all across America.

But I heard not a word from Campus Crusade for months in the wake of the verdict.

Then, in mid-July, the final terms of my settlement were reached. It was reported in the local news that I would get a raise and a check for back pay while may attorneys would get a sum of $615,000. On August 1, 2014, I received the check from the State of North Carolina. On August 2, just 24 hours later, one of the local directors for Campus Crusade wrote me the following:

“Hey Mike. I hope your summer is going well. Would you be interested in having coffee with me next week so I could talk to you about joining my ministry support team?”

After I received that audacious email, I searched through my archives and read every single email correspondence I had received from that director over the course of seven years. There was no offer of prayer support in any of those emails. Nor was there any mention of the legal ordeal I was going through. He simply ignored the suit until the terms of the settlement became public.

In other words, your ministry and its leaders were never interested in unity. They never offered support in public or even in private. They only sought to profit financially from those who win battles Campus Crusade chooses to avoid.

The reason I am linking to this is because I experienced this kind of behavior from IVCF and Campus Crusade as an undergraduate and later as a graduate student. They opposed the introduction of apologetics at every point, and they were both anxious to appease the forces of political correctness. It was depressing. They were far more interested in getting people to show up than taking any sort of bold stand that might make some people uncomfortable. I think there are some IVCF and Crusade groups that may do a decent job. But if I were a student today, I’d head straight for the College Republicans and Ratio Christi if I wanted to get anything useful done. This blog was born out partly out of the anger I felt dealing with the liberal postmodern feminist leadership in those campus clubs when I was a student in college.

9 thoughts on “Conservative professor Mike Adams on the decline of Campus Crusade”

  1. Is cowardice a sin? If so, how does the person know they are committing the sin of cowardice? I share the same revulsion and disgust you do towards cowardice by Christians in all spheres, not just campus parachute ministries. Of course I am repulsed by my own cowardice too.

    What I have noticed is that cowardice is in the eye of the beholder. Further, I have heard remarkable sophistry to rationalize their cowardice. Words like unity and friendship and love and phrases like “Christians are known too much by what they are against instead of what they are for.” Observations like “Christians are hated. Why? It must be because Christians are at fault. We need to apologize for what other Christians do and denounce them too if others claim that it offends them.”

    Cowardice and sophistry and militant liberal feminist aspects seem to run in a pack. But is cowardice objective and a sin? One person’s cowardice is another person’s prudence.

    Like

  2. Well, you can count on me to say it, WK: these folks are apostates and are proof that just because someone calls themselves a Christian does not make them one. Their “jesus” does not hate the dismembering of babies in the womb. (Hint to apostates: you just might be following the other guy.) If they ARE Christian, they aren’t very good ones, and they sure have not read the Bible. They side with injustice instead of justice, with darkness instead of light – that is a clear sign that the Holy Spirit is not indwelling them.

    What is the difference between these people and a-theists?!? At least the a-theists don’t pretend they believe in God! And the a-theists know that their opponents are Christians. Just like these apostates! I’d rather talk with an a-theist, because at least I know where he stands. He is not a wolf wearing sheep’s clothing.

    OK, cheap grace “Christians:” let’s take the gloves off. Bring it on! I’m so sick of you fakers that I am gonna make turkey of you on Thanksgiving. :-) Oh, BTW, God bless you, and Happy Thanksgiving.

    Was that “gentle” enough, WK? :-)

    Like

    1. Yes! There are only two groups of people in the world that really make me mad. First group is these Christians who refuse to learn hard stuff and want to make Christianity about being liked and feeling good. Second group is theistic evolutionists – I can’t stand them.

      Like

  3. In reading this article I’m reminded of a podcast by Christian apologist Greg Koukl, I recently listened to. Greg talked about how issues such as abortion and same sex marriage were ones which Christians need to draw a line in the sand over. He said that ‘the culture’ had drawn it’s own line in the sand over these issues and push was now turning to shove. He made the point, and I think correctly, that if those who call themselves Christians are ,to back down over the above issues eg to avoid being called ‘bigots’, what is going to be their response when real persecution comes for being an authentic follower of Christ? It seems to me that what you are writing about here may give a useful indicator of what the answer to that question will be.

    Like

    1. Yes, he is quite excellent. It was his podcast that first got me interested in these issues – his conversation with Francis Beckwith on abortion, and then his Solid Ground article on what gay marriage is really about.

      Like

  4. I was active in a campus ministry similar to Campus Crusade.

    With universities over 50% female the ministries tone down and ignore what the Bible says about women in order to reach university women who are making their focus a career. They also push women into their own leadership which further compounds the problems.

    Like

Leave a comment